wooden heart

I found this video today.  It is a song (or spoken word) called Wooden Heart by the band Listener.  I will post the video that kind of amazing me and led me to look up the lyrics – which is more like a poem.  I was in awe in a way and wanted to share a few lyrics here and then the video that led me here. This is what Dan Smith said about the song before performing it at a show . . . it is not perfectly word for word but the basic of what he said is this . . .

“I kind of had this day-dream about this town of people who wanted to build this church but didn’t have the wood to make it. And they are on the coast of this ocean and it is made of ship wrecked pieces.  I started thinking about my own family and friends and brothers and sisters and about how we are all on different voyages anyways metaphorically and we get caught up in different things and bits and pieces fall off and we all come together and make a piece – one big piece together and make it all work.  Anyways that is what this about and I hope you love it.”

We’re all born to broken people on their most honest day of living and since that first breath…

 I’ve carved a wooden heart, put it in this sinking ship 
hoping it would help me float for just a few more weeks 
because I am made out of shipwrecks, every twisted beam 
lost and found like you and me scattered out on the sea 

Come on and sew us together, were just tattered rags stained forever 
we only have what we remember

Leave a Reply

