Cebu and Bohol

Cebu

Friday evening – Fly to Cebu, Arrive at our Hotel (The Mango Hotel) where we had warm showers and lovely sleeps!! That night we all talked about what to do with the rest of the weekend and how long we should spend in Bohol but kind of just went to sleep without having a hotel booked in Bohol or any plans really made.  I was a little nervous about not booking a place to sleep if we were going to sleep there as I just like plans ha!  But that does not always happen here so I guess I am getting use to more just going with the flow!

So Saturday morning we were going to take an early boat and get to Bohol. We decided that morning that we would spend one night in Bohol so we could experience more of the island.  So we got to the boat port and the one we were going to take was sold out so we bought tickets for the 2pm boat over to Bohol.  So with our morning in Cebu we decided to hire a van to take us around to the sights in Cebu.  This was nice as we got to see the sights but we were all a little nervous as everyone had our bags in the van!  So we got a little anxious at times thinking the man may like sneak off to the van and drive away with everything!  Thankfully it never happened 🙂

In our morning Cebu tour we got to see Fort San Pedro, The Cebu Metropolitain Cathedral, the Magellan Cross, Basilica Santo Nino, and Taoist Temple.

First Stop: Fort San Pedro

Fort San Pedro: CANON 

Taoist Temple – It was very amazing! 

Bohol and Panglao

The island of Bohol = love ❤

We didn’t stay right on the island of Bohol but rather on Pangloa which is like a little bridge away from Bohol!  We were able to book a couple rooms at the Bohol Bee Farm.  We were amazing when we got there as it was well spectacular.  The only down fall was that our room smelled a tad funny but the warm showers made up for that!!  That evening we just hung around and went out for a nice supper at their restaurant.  It looked out onto the ocean and was breath taking!  And to top the evening off the food was super delicious!  We were served first with the complementary bread and spreads!  The pesto spread was to die for and in a close second and third were the mango and honey spread.  The Bee Farm is the most amazing – most everything I believe grown there such as all their spices and herbs and it is all organic!  Pretty much my dream!  We ate so well!!  We decided that night also that seeing as we would not be able to do the tour of Bohol and get back to Cebu on the last boat that we had to try and stay another night (which none of us were opposed to).  So we booked another room (just one for all 5 of us) and a massage for 8pm on Sunday!

So Sunday morning we woke up nice and early and went to our breakfast.  We chose a table right by the balcony edge so we could see the ocean perfectly!  The food was amazing and the coffee was brewed not instant!  Something almost all of us are missing very much!  Hence our love for Starbucks here; the caffeine fix! Okay so the tour started bright and early at 9am!  Our driver was an amazing tour guide – Denise.  So we started the trip off by going to the Blood Compact.  This is where the Spanish and Philippines kind of made a ‘truce’ if you will. They mixed their blood with wine and drank together.

The Blood Compact

Sharaya, Elaine, Lerissa, Leah and myself at the Blood Compact – looking out to the water 🙂

After that we took a nice drive more to the center of Bohol to see the Chocolate Hills.  Thsi was the one thing we all knew we really wanted to see while in Bohol.  We walked up 200 and some stairs to get there and it was very busy with a bunch of tourists!  But once up there it was amazing! So many hills!!  We saw it when a lot of the hills were more green than brown but still beautiful!!  There are many stories of how the hills came to be but one of them is about two male giants who were fighting over a lady giant.  Anyways I dont totally remember but something happened and tears fell and well those are the chocolate hills!  🙂

So after the Chocolate hills we did a few more tour things!  We stopped in the man made forest and took a few quick pictures!  Then we went on to the Tasier Sanctuary and then to a Butterfly area.  The Tasier and little primates that I think are only pretty much found in Bohol.  They are cute little things – frog like feet to help them walk on the tree branches, a rat like tail and huge eyes!!  That is pretty much what they are known for – the LARGE EYES!! Super adorable little creatures!
The Butterflies – well I was a little worried about going here as things flying around my head kind of freak me out a spell!  These butterflies were quite nice though. Now fun fact about the creatures – they use to be called Flutterbies – which makes much more sense!  I learned mucho interesting facts about the butterflies such as that the uglier the pupa the prettier the butterfly and visa versa!  Fun fact that they mate for a whole 24 hours and then the female lays 100-300 eggs and DIES!  It was silly as our young guide was all like “that is why I wish to be a butterfly” when he told us.  He was a funny young fellow!  Okay so those events were lovely and by the time it was all done we were all super hungry from being all busy all day and Denise drove us to Loboc River for lunch of a river cruise!

The tour guide caught this butterfly and then put it in my hand.  They play dead and i just had to kind of drop my hand and it flew away 🙂

I am like a butterfly!! Tinkerbell photo op 🙂

The cute little thang we saw in Bohol!  Great capture I must say so myself!

Okay well I am sleepy sleepy so I will share with you the rest of the weekend later this week and add some pictures of it shortly too!! But not to many to bore you 🙂 Anyways good night good night!!  Unless you are at home in Canada then Good morning Good morning!!

🙂

76 thoughts on “Cebu and Bohol

  1. I’m glad you’re having a good time with your stay in the Philippines. Just a note on the Chocolate Hills, the hills turn brown or chocolatey during summer which is 2 months from now…since it’s still the monsoon season, they’re still green with vegetation. ENJOY! ENJOY! ENJOY!

  2. I always wanted to visit Bohol…chocolate hills , the fascinating Tarsier, the white sand beaches…of a warm and happy people. Perhaps this Summer I will. As for Cebu…its a spectacular fusion of nature and urban pulse at its best….Plantation Bay was a cool place to unwind….I’m happy for you and your friends, you went where most of us only dream…the butterfly photoshop is a fun surprise!!!

  3. Thank you for the post… Brings back the best memories. I really recommend taking a small early morning boat from Panglao to Balicasag for snorkeling. The fish are so bright and colorful. I have never seen anything like it. Your so close! Enjoy and thanks again for the post.
    Many Blessings, Amy

  4. Wow! Seems you really had a great time and so much fun in Bohol and Cebu. Yes, these two islands are very pretty, even pristine at that. Glad you had an amazing tour in the Philippines. And hey, hope you’ll come back! 🙂

  5. Thank you for writing this wonderful post and appreciating the beauty of the Philippines. I went to Cebu and Bohol several years ago and can totally relate to the things you mentioned about the areas. Hopefully, you could come back and visit Palawan (Puerto Princesa and El Nido). They will be very well worth your visit for sure 🙂 Nice pics too 🙂

  6. WELCOME TO THE MORE FUN PHILIPPINES!

    I am so glad you came over to my country and for the fact that I am seeing this on Freshly Pressed. Well, that’s just a peek of what you can see in the Philippines.

  7. Nice post! I just got back from Bohol and Cebu myself and did many of the same things you did. The Loboc River boat cruise was awesome – loved the musical entertainment.

    Congrats on getting Freshly Pressed!

  8. I am originally from the Philippines but I have never been to Bohol nor Cebu so I envy you!! While growing up I always see pictures of the Chocolate Hills and I thought it is neat that they all carried their shapes despite of horrible storms that the country had last year!!!

  9. Weeh! It’s so nice to see my hometown (Cebu) featured in Freshly Pressed! I’m glad to know you and your friends enjoyed your trip here in the Philippines. My family and I also visited Bohol last year and I fell in love with the place. Such a lovely place!

  10. It’s heartwarming to know that you enjoyed touring in our country Philippines. Cebu and Bohol are some of our finest.Great story and photos. I love this post. Congrats on being freshly pressed. 🙂

  11. Good to know you enjoyed your trip here in our country. If you’re still here and got a bit more time, you might want to visit Puerto Princesa or Borawan in Quezon.
    Enjoy! 🙂

  12. This is an interesting blog and worth a follow. It’s been a couple of years since I’ve been in Cebu. Hopefully my long planned Bohol vacation will push through soon. Cheers! 🙂

  13. Those photos are amazing. Actually, I’m a Filipino myself though I grew up in Canada (I migrated when I was three). I moved back to the Philippines two years ago, and I haven’t visited Cebu and Bohol yet. This post is definitely persuading. 🙂

  14. Hi. I’m so happy to see that your post Cebu and Bohol was in freshly pressed. I’m from the Philippines and I was able to visit Cebu once, the city was full of historical happenings specially the invading of Spanish people before and cebu was the origin of christianity in the Philippines. I hope to visit Bohol someday, and it is true that the legend of the chocolate hills came from two giants fighting and we called it “alamat” in Filipino that means folklore, legend or myth. Thanks for posting it and I hope you and your friends have a nice stay here in the philippines 🙂

  15. I am so glad you enjoyed your time in the Philippines! I hope you would come back to see more of our country. I would recommend the islands of Marinduque, Misibis Bay, Boracay, underground river of Palawan and shopping (nightlife too) in Manila!

  16. Wow! It’s cool that you were able to tour most of the wonderful parts of Cebu and Bohol. That little monkey looking thing is called a ‘Tarsier’. They are famous in Bohol since that’s where they have the most Tarsiers. You nailed the butterfly shot! I sadly failed after so many attempts.. haha.. 🙂

  17. Hi Priscilla, by the time you wake up and find out your story’s on Freshly Pressed, you’ll be thanked by a great deal of Filipinos. Now, if you could just show us some shots from your thrills in Panglao beach? Have a good time there.

    1. I was so surprised and thrilled with all the comments and the fact that this post made it onto Freshly Pressed! I am so appreciative of everyone who is reading my blog and enjoying it!!
      Sadly we did not go to any beaches on Panglao as of time constraints but still loved the island!

  18. Hi priscilla, ive been to those places. twice for cebu. im glad you had fun. i live in the philippines. too bad i never had the chance to go to bee farm 🙂

  19. Hi! I live in Sydney but originally from the Philippines. Cebu is where I first met my husband, actually, I fell in love with Cebu first before I fell for him..haha. Anyway, it’s great to see lovely photos from Cebu and Bohol, places I truly miss

    1. Oh I went to Sydney a few years back and loved it!! Very beautiful!!
      I could see myself living in a city like Cebu in the Philippines if I were to choose! I think Manila is to busy and to much traffic for my liking!
      Thanks for checking out my blog!

  20. Hi Brooke. Great pics of your adventure. How long will you be in the Philippines? Good luck with your program. Stay cool – March and April are very hot.

    1. Hey! Thanks so much! I am here until March 3rd and then heading to Singapore for a bit! Only four more weeks in the Philippines and I am already starting to dread the day I have to leave!
      I guess that just means a return trip is in order!

  21. The cute little thing is damn damn CUTE!

    I have this pic of a really cute dog, or a cute pic of a pup whatever you wanna say in my photoblog.

    How I miss those puppies now. Damn, brings back memories.

  22. Well you are living in an amazing country right now! I found Australia very beautiful! Hopefully you can make it back to the Philippines and enjoy the greatness that lies here! I have found the Visayas to be an amazing part of the country to travel!

  23. Hi! I’m from the Philippines as well. I’m glad you liked and enjoyed your stay there! There’s so much more you have to see – Palawan, Boracay, Baler, Ilocos, etc! I hope you can make it back. 🙂

  24. I like the part where you turned into a butterfly and flew away…were your friends envious? Did they run after you with nets? Just wondering…sounds like fun…I like the part about a massage too…and Starbucks coffee…did you see any signs that said: HEAVEN…no…I know…one always has to figure it out for one’s self…still…the wings…is there a process…molting…anything like that…is it messy at all? I don’t know if I’d want to go through that whole catepillar stage but they’re kinda cute too…especially when they crawl on your skins looking for jelly beans…I think that’s what they do…I think that’s why they become butterflies though…to cover more ground…it’s just a theory though…I’m writing from a Starbucks though….that’s a verifiable factoid….

  25. Congrats on being FP! My family is from Bohol and your pics made me teary-eyed with longing to go back and visit. Beautiful pics! The Tinkerbell shot is amazing! ^_^ Enjoy the rest of your stay in the Philippines.

  26. Oh my! Thank you for writing such vivid accounts of two of the beautiful places in my country. There’s more to explore, so I hope you come back! =)

  27. I’m glad to see Cebu and Bohol in Freshly Pressed. Thanks to you!

    I live in the Philippines but I haven’t been to those places! (Jealous!) I hope to go there this year. Thanks again for sharing.

  28. Wow! Firstly, congrats on being on Freshly Pressed! I was intrigued to see “CEBU and BOHOL” in the title, so I checked out your blog. I thought some local tourist must have blogged about Cebu and Bohol, but I was wrong. I’m glad you had a great time here in the Philippines. I recently visited Bohol too (last month) to celebrate my birthday. Bohol is super nice.

    I love the tinkerbell picture. 🙂

    Here’s my post about Bohol if you want to check it out: http://ywriteswhatever.wordpress.com/2012/01/30/birthdays-more-fun-in-the-philippines/

  29. I am from the Philippines and I am also very much in love with Cebu and Bohol. I hope you go back to our country and discover more beautiful places. 🙂

Leave a Reply

